Udacity

Hello everyone, I’m not sure if you have heard of Udacity, but most likely you have heard of other online learning portals such as Khan Academy, Code Academy etc. Udacity is pretty similar to them, in that you lessons are conducted completely online. Heres a quote from their About page:

Udacity was founded by three roboticists who believed much of the educational value of their university classes could be offered online.

The awesome thing is that their instructors are very established professors from Stanford, Virginia and other renowned universities from around the world. I’ve always wanted to try the courses they offered (six at this point of time), and have even enrolled in their CS101. But unfortunately I did not complete it because I was lazy busy.

So now I’m actually trying to get going again! And I invite YOU to join me! I will attempt to follow along the CS101 course offered at Udacity and will post updates here so we can learn together. I call it social learning. And hopefully this experience will benefit all of us. Feel free to post comments here asking for help or to voice out your opinions. Or you can refer to the forums over at Udacity where many students have already started discussion on the topics taught.

I’m pretty excited about how this will turn out and I hope at the end of 7 weeks, we’ll all have a functional search engine, and a certificate to proudly display!

Head over to their website to sign up and enroll for the module, the first lesson starts tomorrow Apr 16.
Leave a Reply

